Wakefield (1)

IMG_8840Wakefield (named after the English town of the same name)  is twenty-five kilometres south of Nelson. I went  there on Sunday, to a quilting exhibition. In fact, I was going to please a friend but was pleasantly surprised  (I did not take pictures because the light was not very good). Traditional motifs and  more modern interpretations of quilts were both very impressive. Nothing was for sale, at least not officially, and I found it refreshing to see no active promotion.  I could not help thinking, however, that if ever these quilts  were for sale, the price tag would astronomical. And that even  exorbitant prices would  be  well below their true value because each quilt  represents hundreds  or even thousands of hours of work, no doubt.

I stopped at the Anglican Church, after  the exhibition. It was founded in 1846 and is one of the oldest churches in New Zealand. The door was locked, unfortunately, and  I could only  glimpse at  the magnificent kauri benches, a precious wood from New Zealand. The cemetery is also one of the oldest in the country and I read a few epitaphs, as I always do. It is a small wooden cross which, however,  moved me the most.

On the way home, I bought some organic figs on the side of the road. A beautiful autumn sun accompanied me throughout the journey. In short, a perfect day.

12 thoughts on “Wakefield (1)”

    1. Your input is appreciated nonetheless. I may have been unclear about the use of words. This is a situation when the English is clear and French is less clear, but this is an American invention (I think), it may be why the French language has not come up with a truly French word for it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We have a Wakefield here, (in Massachusetts) also.

    Quilts were always beautifully crafted but in the past they were actually used on beds, and since they were” woman’s work” not seen as a fine art. Nowadays they are often being designed to be hung for a beautiful display, in a museum or art exhibit.

    Wasn’t there a time, in the past, when churches were always open? Now, unless there’s a service in progress, they all seem to be locked.

    What a nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon, Sylvie….good for the body, good for the soul. Thanks for taking us along.

    Like

    1. The level of detail and artistic research I found in the quilts exhibited shows that quilting may be in the process a legitimate art.
      I miss the days when one could go in a church at any time, not that I am religious, but these buildings have got an atmosphere favourable to thinking, reminiscing, interiorising, etc.
      Thank you for visiting Cynthia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

