Tim Winton (1960)

Tim Winton

Tim Winton is one of my favourite authors. He lives near Perth, Australia. He is considered a Living Treasure by the National Trust of Australia. I discovered him  thanks to Dirt Music (2001). My memories of this book are dominated by the Australian landscape. He told the Sydney Herald (25-27 April 2008, Books, p.29):

The place comes first. If the place is not interesting to me then I can not feel it. I can not feel any people in it.

He is also passionate about the cause of the environment. The interview below makes him an  even more endearing character.

http://writersfestival.co.nz/type/video/

The photograph comes from this site :

http://www.panmacmillan.com.au/display_author.asp?Author=Winton,%20Tim

Leave a Reply

